2010 Wrap-up ;-)

2010 passed by SO FAST *turbo-like*, well… except for the last couple of weeks which seemed a bit slower, but nevertheless it was on speedy year! Did a lot and as a new way to tell you all Happy New Year, I prepared this post with best of 2010 for you to enjoy πŸ˜‰ Happy New Year my readers… you keep me going and going just like the Energizer Bunny πŸ˜‰

January 2010

My year started in Paris…. at the Eiffel Tower to be exact (link). Few hrs before 2010, we took the metro down to celebrate by the tower

It was very crowded and TOO cold, but we had fun that day…

I spent the first 10 days of 2010 in Paris (withΒ a day trip to Brussels here, here, and here) Β And for all of Paris Posts IN ONE, click here πŸ˜‰

Besides Paris…. we witnessed a Solar Eclipse in January πŸ˜‰ And I started a Thyroid Cancer health Campaign/Awareness with Royale Hayat‘s CEO, Dr. Osama AlSane. he was very nice and very helpful!

A strong earthquake struck Haiti on Jan 20th 😦 It was really bad (link)

February 2010

So… The short month of February, lets see!!! Well, I was continuing my Paris posts still and continuing the health awareness campaign I started in January.

Soccer Scene opened in Kuwait and I got numerous email messages via my blog ordering jerseys from them… I almost created a template in Arabic and English to explain that I dont own the place, I just wrote about it and provided them with the actual contact details LOL!

Also, February is Kuwait’s favorite month, and for that we had to show support at home πŸ˜‰ We do decorate our house every year in celebration of February πŸ˜‰

I also snapped a 5.5C shot in February brrrrr

I also went to Bahrain and attended GulfRun 5, reviewed few restaurants, and snapped some pics here and there (You can look up those posts if you type in “Bahrain” in the search bar ;-))

Oh and check out the Kuwaiti-theme dinner we prepare in celebration of Kuwaits Independence and Liberation Days (link)

March 2010

The highlight of this month to me was my little sister’s wedding ❀

Taste of Kuwait event was also another major eventt of the month (plus I was picked as on of the judges in the panel ;-))… it wasΒ great. Check out my posts about it here, here,Β here, and here.

I also was invited to attend classes in the first etiquette school in Kuwait, Acanthe (link).

Another massive 8.8 earthquake struck Chile… it may have changed the entire earth’s rotation resulting in shorter days :-S (link)

Oh and I got to try NBK’s new product Bouky πŸ˜‰

April 2010

I started with the Light it up Blue post – in support for Autism πŸ˜‰ (link)

Also… my sister’s Cheeseburger themed party (link). It was SO MUCH FUNΒ preparingΒ for it and all πŸ˜‰ – the below cheesecake cupcakes are from Frost πŸ˜‰

Oh and I discovered Nail It and got hooked ever since ❀ (link)

I also went to Dubai for a wedding I was invited to (link) and reviewed the AMAZING Wataniya Airways (link). I also stayed at The Palms in Dubai and it was really nice (link)

Another etiquette school opened in Kuwait, and its called The House of Etiquette (link)

May 2010

MY MONTH πŸ˜‰ You must all know by now that Ansam518 is Ansam May 18th = my birthday…. so what happened in May?

I got the royal treatment at La Mode Salon in Yarmouk (link)

My Seven Layers salad was a hit and the recipe got spread so fast that some even added/modified it to their taste (link). Hmmmm what else!! Oh my Monte Cristo… specially the one I make πŸ˜‰ It was so popular on my facebook group that a lot of people tried my recipe and loved it πŸ˜‰ (link)

Oh and my sisters and friends surprised me a week early with a Birthday Celebration! It was SO MUCH FUN! I dont know I fell for it LOL (link)

Which was later followed up, after few days, in Edo… My sister made me Sushi Cakes ❀ (link)

Oh and I also celebrated the third birthday of my blog (started in April 2006 on blogspot, and moved to wordpress in May later on)

Also… later on in May, many bloggers all posted about FourMe who was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma 😦 She’s a true fighter… God bless her!

Oh… Oishii Sushi got me a sushi cake πŸ˜‰ I was told that it was the first sushi cake delivered from their store πŸ˜‰ (link)

Oh and I got lots of other yummies from friends and bakeries/restaurants;

Cupcakes from Toomzie & Fahad πŸ˜‰ (link)

Juju’s Giant Cookies (link)

May also marked the first Taw9eel deliver via twitter πŸ˜‰ and that first delivery order was made by -ahem- truly yours πŸ˜‰ (link)

June 2010

Karkoosha gave a special offer to my blog readers back in June πŸ˜‰ First 10 exhibitors that mentions Ansam518 while registering will get a complimentary free week πŸ˜‰

I showed my friend a T-shirt Β F2o designed for my friend’s birthday! My friend LOVED so much she ordered one with the same idea… and I thought it was worth blogging about because of all the attention paid to details and the fabulous outcome (link)

Alsooooooooooooooo – Ansam Yogurt was launched in June ❀ (link) – Initially it was supposed to be out for a month or two, but turned into a BIG hit that they kept it πŸ˜‰

World Cup and the Waka Waka craze πŸ˜‰ It was a song stuck in our heads all through the year (link)

Speaking of music… I also attended few of National Council’s 13th International Music Festival shows and posted about it (link)

AlOthman launched its new project AlOthman Outlet πŸ˜‰

June also marks the 49th (actual) independence day anniversary!

I also got a new feature on my blog in June…. posts from London by my best friend Luluscious πŸ˜‰

Proteges Generation I was launched and it was a fun program! I loved it (link) – this was my favorite class I attended with them (link)

I also came to learn that MS. Safa AlHashim and the US Ambassador read my blog and decided to go to one of the places I blog mostly about, Baking Tray (link)

July 2010

Our friend Farah returned from her one-year course in Paris πŸ˜‰ She was missed dearly so its good to have her back home with us :-*

Enjoy! Was one of the restaurants I tried and got hooked on ever since ❀ I love love love their mushroom swiss and blue cheese burger πŸ˜‰ (link)

I also participated in Taw9eel twitter activity and won LOTS OF ICE CREAM ❀ (link)

Also… I was invited to go on The Proteges trip to Dubai to cover the event on my blog πŸ˜‰ It was an awesome experience…. the students rock ❀ (link) for more on that trip, click here!

I held a World Cup Competition at work… in which we predict the winning teams and ear points. Our manager won! Β I made it to second place though πŸ˜‰ Not bad eh? (link)

Omar AlTabtabie talked about the “fifth power” in a newspaper article, he mentions me in that article along with other bloggers πŸ˜‰

I also met Adla AlSharhan in event made for The Proteges πŸ˜‰ Shes fabulous! (link)

Oh yeah… I got my very first Vuvuzela too in July LOL (link)

August 2010

I finally found a hairstylist that I am comfortable with! Alison, from Toni & Guy Al Corniche Club!

Ramadan was in August this year… although it was hot, but not bad at all πŸ˜‰ We did it! Lots of nice TVCs this year from different companies… Specially Wataniya’s first ad

I attended Omar AlKhayyam’s musical and it was AMAZING (link)

Again I joined The Proteges in one of their trips, this time to Failaka Island (link) and then attended their graduation party (link)

Although not so crazy about “Daraas” (Ramadani dresses) I got me quite a few this year (link)

Pakistani people suffered a great deal from a flood 😦 it was really bad (link)

Another post about The Proteges… this time they made it to a meeting with HH the Amir of Kuwait! I am so proud of you guys πŸ˜‰ (link)

I also got LOADS of Gergaian this year… SO SWEET, literally!! Hehehe (link)

September 2010

We celebrated Eid AlFitr after Ramadan πŸ˜‰ Nice time to get together with the whole family – everyone is nicely dressed and happy to see each other ❀

I got a couple of nice Eidiyas from House of Etiquette and Zain Telecom (link)

We also went to Shahrayar… our yearly ritual for Eid Holidays πŸ˜‰ (link)

I also went to Dubai for a training course… and it was such a nice trip! I had fun with friends and family… the course was awesome too!

October 2010

I attended a conference about Human Rights.. I wrote about it here (link)

Air raid sirens are back – for testing only!

52 Degrees had their opening ceremony on October 20th! It was an interesting event (link)

A new frozen yogurt opened in AlDahiya Juice… I tried it and loved it too (link) – great to have frozen yogurt supplier so close by!

I tried Wash n’ Drive car wash service… they did an amazing job! So I asked them to do my mom’s car too… my dad later on called them and booked an appointment – they are great (link)

Mutubtub had their opening ceremony and it was a day full of kids having fun with their families (link) – Pictures of the event here!

I blogged real-time for The Three Club Triathlon (link)

We ended the month celebrating my sister’s birthday a la Halloween style (here & here – which I posted about later in November)

November 2010

Dhari is documenting his graduation countdown with candies… (link)

I later, towards the end of this month, traveled… to Cairo & London! I wrote few posts about it… still doing so πŸ˜‰ I am not done with this trip yet!

I got a new camera… and I am enjoying it so much! Its my new toy ❀ (link)

I attended Redbull Flugtag II πŸ˜‰ It was nice, but I got a bit dizzy and had to leave early (link)

Eid AlAdha was on November 16th! Again, tis the season to get together with family πŸ˜‰ Many were out of town though… but that didnt stop us from our tradition on second day of Eid, Shahrayar AGAIN ;-P (link) and it was my dad’s birthday too!

I, along with P0ach, covered STB London Trip πŸ˜‰

December 2010

Kuwait’s AlAzrag won the Gulf Cup – Khaleeji 20 WOHOOOOO!

I got the chance to participate in Porsche World Roadshow and it was SO MUCH FUNNNNNNNNNN (link)

I am still covering Cairo + London trip πŸ˜‰ Will wrap it up in 2011 – hopefully πŸ˜› I will wrap them up in one post and update you πŸ˜‰

Oh and when I came back from my trip I was so sick that I missed a week at work! I was so damn sick hehehe

I also attended the GulfRun 6 Meetup – actually I went there an hour before the event (link)

We also hosted a family lunch at home…. loved every moment of that day πŸ˜‰ Specially when we celebrated the birthdays of family members in ONE cake!

I also attended the soft opening of 52 Degrees with my cousin Noufa πŸ˜‰

And to end this year… I had a bit of problem on the road :-S

I had to use the SOS button in my car for the very first time too

Oh well… the day ended way better than this! My friend got married and we celebrated my sister’s birthday at Chocolate & Macaroon and surprised her with a cake there πŸ˜‰

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE ❀

Restaurants/Food

Edo is still my favorite Japanese Restaurant πŸ˜‰ (link). Genki comes in next! Their staff are one of the friendliest πŸ˜‰

Dean & Deluca – Breakfast and Brunch… LOVE it there – And don’t miss out on their sexy looking waffles (link)

MMC Group… Amazing selection of restaurants to satisfy all tastes!

Baking Tray must be the best sandwich place in town πŸ˜‰

A new Italian with a twist opened, Melenzane! It can turn your tastebuds “upside-down”!

Sugar & Spice in Shuwaikh… best moist cakes, not the best decorations on all cakes though πŸ˜‰ Still my favorite cake shop in town πŸ˜‰

Prime & Toast + Early Bird, great places for breakfast and brunch πŸ˜‰

Enjoy, Noodles & More… My new addiction πŸ˜‰ Love their Swiss Mushroom and Blue Cheese burgers ❀

I also LOVE the Meat Co. Cheeseburger (Wagyu meat) + Gaucho Grill’s Burger (rib eye meat)

MUNCH’s Truffle Pizza – Can’t have enough of this one πŸ˜‰ (link)

Taste of Kuwait. I was in the judging panel on the first one and it was so much fun πŸ˜‰ Β – I look forward to attending this year’s too πŸ˜‰ It was such a nice event, one of the best food events in Kuwait – a yummy one too πŸ˜‰

WOW and Opera – Great for coffee sweets (for parties and weddings). Chocolateria is good too πŸ˜‰ I also recommend Chocolates & More… pretty good stuff there (link)

Oh and Gelato Italiano’s ice cream bonbons ❀ ❀ ❀ It was a BIG hit in my sister’s wedding and family gatherings (link)

Not a macaroon lover, but I just loved the marshmallow filled macaroon from Chocoalte & Macaroon πŸ˜‰ Besides… they have pretty good dishes on their menu. I go there every now and then for a good bite!

The extra mini red velvet cupcakes from cubby love are SO GOOD (link)

Java Detour – Great coffee and amazing atmosphere πŸ˜‰ (link)

Oh and I LOVE LOVE Kabab-ji’s Lahme Baajeen that I rared it the best in Kuwait (link)

Juju’s Giant Cookies πŸ˜‰ YUMM-O! (link)

In Town Cafe – Suits various tastes – (link)

N-Sensation Sandwich at Napket (link)

Whoopie Pie from Baked (link)

China Kitchen (link)

Chocolateness – BEST molten cake (link)

Living Room Lounge (link)

Lime Tree Cafe in Dubai (here & here)

Crepes a GOGO in Paris (link)

Istanbul Grill in Paris (link) – we need good Doner Kebab in Kuwait ASAP

Laduree Breakfast in Paris (link)

Angelina Cafe in Paris (link)

Nu Asia in Bahrain (link)

Bushido in Bahrain (link)

Joe’s Cafe in Dubai Mall (link)

Circle Cafe in Dubai for Bagel Lovers (link)

Tribes in Mall of Emirates in Dubai (link)

Rivington Grill in Dubai (link)

Social House in Dubai (link)

Okku in Dubai (link)

Cocomaya in London (link)

Koshary Abou Tarek (link)

Abou ElSid (link)

Falafel King in London (link)

Pizzetta’s Mozzarella and Mushroom Carpaccio Pizzetta (link)

Chipotle in London (link)

Addictions:

Caribou CoffeΒ TriviaΒ questions (here, here, here, here,

AlJazeera Perfumes (link)

Nail It Salon and Spa (link)

Napket Icy Yogurt (link)

Manhattan Online Shop: Footzyrolls + Lip Scrub (here and I order again from them – will post about it soon)

I still love Mr. Bones… and I found him in Dubai too (link)

I wanna quit junkfood but I just LOVE McDonald’s SO MUCH :-S

Achievements

I was on of Taste of Kuwait’s Judges in their panel on the last day – FUN experience and met a lot of cool people too (link)!

My blog was listed in P2BK’s Muthakarat (link)

I got to write a full page on the Short-Cut first print (link)

Napket named a frozen yogurt (mix) after me πŸ˜‰ (link)

I was mentioned in AlRai – B2BK Page (link) + Article by Omar AlTabtabie (link) + I am one of Sara’s favorites (link) πŸ˜‰

I was invited to The Proteges’ Duabi Trip to cover it on my blog (link)

I blogged real-time for The Three Club Triathlon (link)

Exclusive coverage of STB London trip with P0ach πŸ˜‰

Favorite Beauty, Shopping, tips, and Picks

O-Glow & O-Gloss from Matchbox (link)

Brush Salon for best Facials (link) – I also liked fivesenses (link)

Nuzha Shoe Repair store (link)

Casa Spa Home Services (link)

Bassam Fattouh Makeup (link)

Toni & Guy Corniche Club – Alison for haircuts, and Emma for color (link) + Label.m Products (link)

MAKEUP FOREVER Eyelashes #130 (link)

Nuwani online shopping (link) Also, click here to check out what I got from them πŸ˜‰

La Mode + Eden salons πŸ˜‰

Purelogicol (link)

Au Nom de la Rose (link)

The Manhattan Online Shop (link)

Cargo Cosmetics (link)

Wash n Drive car wash and detailing services (link)

Shurooq Amin’s Art (link)

Favorite Vloggers:

Rashisha (link)

Happy Slip (link)

Aziz Rants (link)

Kandee (link)

Dhari (link)

Shitsawii (link)

Interviews

Dr. Mohammed AlMarzouq (link)

Shitsawii (Hamani) (link)

Chef Mimi (link)

Sponsors:

My sponsors for 2010 were;

1. NBK… and sponsorship ended today 😦 I will miss t hem for that they were my favorite sponsors ❀

2. Little Treats – Yummy cupcakes and more πŸ˜‰ + Check them out in my sister’s wedding (link)

3. Alfa Gas Stations (link)

4. The Short Cut (link)

5. Java Detour (link)

6. 52 Degrees (link)

7. Nail It (link)

8. Chocolate & Macaroon (link)

Kuwait Science Fair (link)

Still Going On

My “No-No”, “Random Thoughts”, What Do You Think of this Ad, Funny Side Note, Lost in Translation, Β and “Recommended” Posts will still be coming – I wont stop those πŸ˜‰ Β Oh and I will still review restaurants πŸ˜›

I will also try and write more of “Steal Vs. Real Deal”, “Where Was I?”, “Ad Vs Reality”, “Where Was I”, and “Who wore it better” Posts… I will also try to do more competitions with prizes πŸ˜‰

I will hopefully continue my quest into reviewing Juice Stands in Kuwait… I already posted about few of them already πŸ˜‰

I also have few ideas (like “Picture of the Day”, “Picks of the Month”, and much more ;-)) Not to mention that I am planning to write more about health and awareness in Kuwait… and social responsibility activities too πŸ˜‰

Hmmm… what about Ansam’s Kitchen? I am planning to revive it and share more pictures and recipes this coming year πŸ˜‰

24 responses to “2010 Wrap-up ;-)

  1. what a great post, you really take blogging seriously ansam,

    All the best and more to come enshalla in 2011

  2. It was a good year .. Wish you the best in 2011 inshalla πŸ™‚ Happy New Year πŸ™‚

  3. What an honor Ansam! Thank you so much for including us on your list! We are huge fans of your blog as well! May 2011 be a wonderful & prosperous year for you & your loved ones πŸ™‚

  4. Happy New Year Somsom!!! <3<3<3 may 2011 be a better year for all of us! :****

  5. Great Post ! Wishing you and your family all the best in 2011 ! xoxo

  6. Niiiiiiiiiiiice loved ur post;****

    O kil 3am wentay ibkhaair;**

  7. amazing post Ansam!! Happy new years to you and your family.. and many happy ones to come inshallah;*

  8. Wow, I got tired of scrolling down @_@

    Have a happy new 2011! πŸ˜›

  9. Loved the post ansam!!! the best post eb 2010 kelha πŸ˜€

  10. happy new year luv o really cool post !!! it made me grin & reminisce while reading it, which made me look like an idiot πŸ˜€

  11. I wish you best of luck lovely ansam your always the best ;*

  12. I wish I was still in Kuwait so I could try all these places! Hope to be back soon.

Leave a Reply

